Image result for stranger things

I had heard and seen videos about Stranger Things online, but I never had the desire to watch it up until recently.  I was bored one night and saw it on my Netflix list and decided to give it a watch.

I was instantly hooked.

This show is directly reminiscent of something like The Goonies. For those of you who don’t know about the show, it is based in the small town of Hawkins, Indiana. 4 neighborhood kids head home after playing Dungeons & Dragons one day, and one of the friends, Will Byers gets abducted by some sort of creature and goes missing.

The different storylines between the main group of friends, the police chief, the distraught mother of Will, and Mike’s (the main character) sister are spread out, but as the series continues, all of the storylines begin to intertwine and form a masterpiece

I just wish I watched it before a season 2 was announced, because with that announcement I can conclude that things don’t go terribly wrong for the main characters before watching. I’m also questioning the need for a season 2. If they didn’t include the last few moments from the series, the storyline would have been completely wrapped up. In my opinion, Stranger Things would’ve been much better just as a short horror miniseries, but like most shows that do well, more seasons are made to get more money. I just hope this second season doesn’t ruin everything, or else I’ll be spending most of my time blocking it out of my mind.

I do have some gripes with this show though. There were some pretty cliche moments throughout the series, and there were TONS of predictable jump scares. They all ended up the same way. Music would cut, camera would focus on a seemingly unimportant object or door given the circumstances, and BOOM here comes whatever monster, or person that was thought to be a monster.

I could get over the predictability, and the storyline had no boring moments. I don’t think the show was intended for a second season, due to the rush to tie up every storyline, but once the main conflict started, it didn’t let up.

If you haven’t already seen it though, Stranger Things is definitely a worthwhile show that earns its place on your Netflix Watchlist.